Horse Racing Ireland Awards 2020 Winners Announced

15 December 2020

Barry Geraghty 800600

Legendary racing figures John Oxx and Barry Geraghty were among the winners of the annual Horse Racing Ireland Awards 2020 announced today. Both recently retired, they were honoured with the Contribution to the Industry Award and the Irish Racing Hero Award respectively.
Contribution to the Industry Award winner John Oxx retired at the end of the 2020 Flat season, bringing to an end a 41-year training career that few could hope to match. He was champion trainer in 1995, the year that his European Champion three-year-old filly Ridgewood Pearl reigned supreme. Oxx will long be remembered for his handling of the brilliant Sinndar and more recently Sea The Stars, feted as one of the all-time great racehorses.

Similarly, Barry Geraghty thrilled National Hunt racing fans throughout his 23-year career during which few big prizes eluded him. Champion jockey on two occasions, Barry won both the Aintree Grand National and the Irish Grand National. Two wins in the Gold Cup, four Champion Hurdle wins and a remarkable five victories in the Champion Chase featured among a Cheltenham Festival haul of 43 winners, with five of those coming at his final Cheltenham in March.

The 10 winners of the 18th annual awards were:

Contribution to the Industry Award: John Oxx
Irish Racing Hero Award: Barry Geraghty
Horse of the Year Award: Al Boum Photo 
Emerging Talent Award: Gavin Ryan 
National Hunt Award: Rachael Blackmore 
National Hunt Achievement Award: Eugene and Maxine O’Sullivan
Point-to-Point Award: Colin Bowe
Flat Award: Colin Keane
Flat Achievement Award: Tony Mullins
Ride of the Year: Gavin Ryan

Many congratulations to all nominees & winners! 

More News